Contact: Regina L. Davis, 202-898-9382, rdavis@naruc.org



## Iowa Commissioner Joshua Byrnes Appointed as NARUC Treasurer, Georgia Commissioner Tim Echols to Lead Nuclear Subcommittee

**WASHINGTON** (November 27, 2023) — National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners President Julie Fedorchak has appointed Iowa Utilities Board Member Joshua J. Byrnes as the new treasurer for the Association. She also appointed Georgia Public Service Commission Vice-Chair Tim Echols as the chair of the Subcommittee on Nuclear Issues-Waste Disposal.

Byrnes, who succeeds North Carolina Commissioner ToNola Brown-Bland as treasurer, has served at the IUB since 2020 and was a former bank director, along with serving on utility and energy boards. For NARUC, he is also a member of the Committee on Critical Infrastructure and the Committee on Electricity. He holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in biology from Luther College in Decorah and a Master of Science degree in Educational Leadership from Winona State University in Minnesota. He completed PhD coursework at Iowa State University. As treasurer, Byrnes will serve on the NARUC Executive Committee and Board of Directors.

Echols has served at the Georgia PSC since 2011. He was formerly the co-chair of the Subcommittee on Nuclear Issues-Waste Disposal and succeeds former chair, Maryland Commissioner Anthony O'Donnell. His other NARUC committee memberships include the Committee on Consumers and the Public Interest, Energy Resources and the Environment, International Relations, and the Subcommittee on Clean Coal and Carbon Management. He holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in English from the University of Georgia-Athens and a Master of Arts in nonprofit organizations.

"On behalf of the Executive Committee and Board of Directors, I want to thank Commissioners Byrnes and Echols for stepping into these leadership positions," said Fedorchak, who is a member of the North Dakota Public Service Commission. "They each bring a wealth of experience and the depth of knowledge needed to advance the goals of NARUC and support our members. We are also very grateful for the outstanding service of Commissioners Brown-Bland and O'Donnell for their years of excellent service to NARUC."

The Executive Committee includes NARUC's principal officers — the president, first vice president, second vice president, treasurer and two appointed members. They are responsible for the overall direction of the organization, provide day-to-day policy guidance to the executive director within the framework of policies adopted by the Board of Directors and recommend policy revisions to the Board.

###

## **About NARUC**

NARUC is a non-profit organization founded in 1889 whose members include the governmental agencies that are engaged in the regulation of utilities and carriers in the fifty states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands. NARUC's member agencies regulate telecommunications, energy, and water utilities. NARUC represents the interests of state public utility commissions before the three branches of the federal government.