

For Immediate Release Contact: Regina L. Davis, <u>rdavis@naruc.org</u>

Minnesota Commissioner Schuerger and Michigan Commissioner Phillips to Lead Electricity and Telecommunications Committees

Kentucky Commissioner Chandler Named Electricity Co-Vice Chair; Washington State Commissioner Rendahl Joins Executive Committee

WASHINGTON (March 10, 2022) — National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners President Judith Williams Jagdmann of Virginia has appointed new chairs for the Committee on Electricity and the Committee on Telecommunications appointing, respectively, Minnesota Commissioner Matthew Schuerger and Michigan Commissioner Tremaine L. Phillips. In addition, Kentucky Chairman Kent Chandler is the new co-vice chair of the Committee on Electricity.

Schuerger replaces Commissioner Ann Rendahl, whose committee term was expiring. Rendahl will now serve on NARUC's Executive Committee and will remain on the Board of Directors. Schuerger, who was appointed to the Minnesota Public Utilities Commission in 2016, was previously a co-vice chair of the committee. As noted on his commission profile, he has more than 30 years of experience in the energy industry as a regulator, senior manager and professional engineer, including work focused on power system planning and reliability, energy markets, distributed energy resources and grid integration of renewable energy. He holds an MS in electrical engineering from the University of Minnesota, an MBA from the University of St. Thomas and a BS in mechanical engineering from Purdue University.

"Being appointed to chair the Committee on Electricity is an honor and an opportunity to lead efforts to help ensure reliable and affordable electricity for consumers during this time of transformation in how we power our lives," said Schuerger. "I'm excited to work with my fellow commissioners from across the country to develop approaches to regulation that can adapt to changes in the energy industry."

Chandler, who has served as a member of the electricity committee, now joins Ohio Commissioner Beth Trombold as co-vice chair. He has served on the Kentucky Public Service Commission since 2020 and became chairman in 2021. He has a BS in finance from Murray State University and a JD from the Salmon P. Chase College of Law at Northern Kentucky University.

Phillips was appointed to the Michigan Public Service Commission in 2019 and replaces former telecommunications committee chair Commissioner Karen Charles Peterson, whose term has expired. Like Schuerger, he was formerly a co-vice chair of the committee. Before joining the MPSC, he worked in the public and private sectors to accelerate the nation's transition to clean, renewable, and reliable energy resources and served as the director of Cincinnati 2030 District, leading the organization to become one of the largest and most engaged 2030 Districts in the country. He is a graduate of Michigan State University and The Ohio State University, where he received a JD from the Moritz College of Law and an MA in public policy and management from the John Glenn College of Public Affairs.

"The telecommunications industry and its associated infrastructure are becoming ever more intertwined and critical to the operation and maintenance of water, electricity and other utility services," said Phillips. "It is now more important than ever for state commissions to leverage the networks and resources provided by NARUC to help ensure that each of our respective states are maximizing the benefits of this once-in-a-generation level of financial support for our telecommunications infrastructure."

"It is my pleasure to appoint each commissioner to their new role," said Jagdmann. "These commissioners are all immensely qualified and bring focused engagement and vision to their respective committees. We are also very grateful to Commissioners Ann Rendahl and Karen Charles Peterson for their excellent leadership and service."

Committee and subcommittee chairs are appointed by the NARUC President for a term of one year and may be reappointed for a maximum of three consecutive terms.

###

About NARUC

NARUC is a non-profit organization founded in 1889 whose members include the governmental agencies that are engaged in the regulation of utilities and carriers in the fifty states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands. NARUC's member agencies regulate telecommunications, energy, and water utilities. NARUC represents the interests of state public utility commissions before the three branches of the federal government.