

# Black Sky Subcommittee Meeting Minutes May 14, 2021

Chair Gladys Dutrieuille convened the meeting of Black Sky Subcommittee, followed by introductions from the membership of the Subcommittee. The meeting agenda and presentation materials are attached for reference. This meeting of the Black Sky Subcommittee had attendance from members of the Critical Infrastructure Committee and Staff Subcommittees on Critical Infrastructure and Electric Reliability & Resilience.

Chair Dutrieuille introduced Brian Harrell, Vice-President & Chief Security Officer at Avangrid and Randall Brobson, Vice-President — Real Estate | Americas Head of Engineering & Critical Systems Operations at Goldman Sachs who presented on the interdependencies between the financial and energy sectors. The financial sector is characterized by deep interdependencies with multiple key infrastructures, particularly the electricity sector. The potential threat of a Black Sky event threatens the ability for both the utility and finance sectors to expeditiously resume normal operations. This session explored these interconnected threats and detailed how utilities rely on financial institutions to restore service during a black start restoration.

Subcommittee members had the opportunity to ask questions of Mr. Harrell and Mr. Brobson. Topics of discussion ranged from federal policy on ransomware payments, organization specific 'blue sky' exercises for 'black sky' days, and anticipated threat landscapes. Both panelists were forthcoming in their recommendations that utilities and state public utility commissions can do more to prepare for Black Sky events.

The Converge team is developing relevant use cases to help refine the needs assessment and guide the development of the playbook. The Subcommittee will meet again on June 18, 2021 to discuss those deliverables.



#### **Attendance**

## **Black Sky Subcommittee Members:**

CHAIR: Gladys Brown Dutrieuille - PA Public Utility Commission

Co-Chair: Phil Moeller - EEI

Kim O'Guinn: Arkansas Public Service Commission Lillian Mateo-Santos – Puerto Rico Energy Bureau Donald (Don) Schumacher – Connecticut Water

Dan Lauf - NGA

Mary Lasky – Johns Hopkins Applied Physics Laboratory

Michael E. Bryson - PJM

Richard Mroz – Resolute Strategies

Brandi Martin - DOE Kristen Verclas – NASEO

Rob Thornmeyer - UTC

### **Other Attendees:**

Hon. Diane Burman – New York Public Service Commission Charles Bondourant – Public Utility Commission of Texas Blair Fink – Georgia Public Service Commission James Harmening – Illinois Commerce Commission Wei Chin Lin – Illinois Commerce Commission Megan Levy – Wisconsin Public Service Commission Larry Duran – Colorado Public Utilities Commission Jody Raines – New Jersey Board of Public Utilities Mike Rush – Missouri Public Service Commission

## **Staff Support:**

Ghana Redman – PA PUC
John Van Zant – PA PUC
David Alexander – PA PUC
Scott Aaronson - EEI
Lynn P. Costantini – NARUC
Ashton Rafferty - NARUC
William McCurry - NARUC