

Black Sky Subcommittee Meeting Minutes April 23, 2021

Chair Gladys Dutrieuille convened the meeting of Black Sky Subcommittee, followed by introductions from the membership of the Subcommittee. The meeting agenda and presentation materials are attached for reference.

Chair Dutrieuille introduced Jonathon Monken and John Heltzel from Converge Strategies to lead the Subcommittee in a detailed discussion aimed at assessing the gaps and challenges that exist within PUCs and state government to address Black Sky event mitigation, planning, and response. The Converge team first focused on scoping issues related to the development of the Black Sky Technical Playbook such as the intended audience; the scope and scale of the hazard to address; and, the potential roles and responsibilities for state energy officials before, during, and after a black sky event. These scoping considerations framed the needs assessment. The Subcommittee identified the following needs that the contents of the Black Sky Technical Playbook can address:

- Tools to conduct gaps analysis at the state-level to assess black sky preparedness;
- Multi-state planning processes to prepare for black sky hazards; identify the potential for a regional approach in addition to tools for individual states
- Consideration of interdependencies between sectors and avenues to enhance coordination between sectors
- Approaches to building effective interagency coordination;
- Framework to address prioritization concerns, particularly related to communications and emergency response processes;
- Description of available opportunities to leverage federal funding to offset planning and response needs;

The Converge Team will document these needs in more detail and share with the Subcommittee for further consideration. Converge will also develop relevant use cases to help refine the needs assessment and guide the development of the playbook. The Subcommittee will meet again on May 21, 2021.



Black Sky Subcommittee Members:

CHAIR: Gladys Brown Dutrieuille - PA Public Utility Commission Co-Chair: Phil Moeller – EEI Kim O'Guinn: Arkansas Public Service Commission Lillian Mateo-Santos – Puerto Rico Energy Bureau Donald (Don) Schumacher – Connecticut Water Dan Lauf - NGA Mary Lasky – Johns Hopkins Applied Physics Laboratory Michael E. Bryson - PJM Richard Mroz – Resolute Strategies Brandi Martin - DOE Kristen Verclas – NASEO

Staff Support:

John Heltzel – EIS Council / Converge Strategies Jonathon Monken – Converge Strategies Ghana Redman – PA PUC John Van Zant – PA PUC David Alexander – PA PUC Scott Aaronson - EEI Lynn P. Costantini - NARUC William McCurry - NARUC