Resolution Honoring Commissioner Elizabeth (Lib) Fleming

Whereas Elizabeth B. (Lib) Fleming is a true Southern lady born and raised in Spartanburg County, South Carolina, having attended Boiling Springs High School and graduated from Converse College;

Whereas Lib initially honed her skills as a public servant by serving on the Spartanburg City Council, the Spartanburg Development Council, and the Development Corporation Loan Review Committee, as well as Mayor Pro-Tem of Spartanburg, Board Member on the Appalachian Council of Governments, and a dedicated representative of the City of Spartanburg in its membership with the National League of Cities;

Whereas Lib is a devotee of civic involvement and improvement, serving as a Member on the Boards of the Spartanburg Urban League, the Urban League of the Upstate, the American Red Cross, Big Brothers/Big Sisters of Phyllis Wheatley Association, the Chamber of Commerce, the Cultural Center Foundation, Friends of the Arts, and Spartanburg County SAFE Home Network;

Whereas Lib is a strong supporter of education, serving as a Member on the Boards of Converse College, USC Spartanburg, and the SC Governor's School for the Arts and Humanities Foundation;

Whereas Lib is a recipient of the Mary Mildred Sullivan Award for Outstanding Citizenship and a Spartanburg Area Conservancy Volunteer of the Year;

Whereas Lib was elected and has served as Commissioner of the Public Service Commission of South Carolina since 2004, and as Chair from July 1, 2008, to June 30, 2010; and

Whereas Lib has served on the NARUC Committee on Critical Infrastructure, the NARUC Committee on Electricity, and represented NARUC on the Advisory Council of the New Mexico State University Center for Public Utilities, and the Executive Committee of the National Council on Electricity Policy; now therefore, be it

Resolved that the Board of Directors of the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners, being convened at its 2018 Summer Policy Summit in Scottsdale, Arizona, extends its congratulations and sincere thanks to Commissioner Elizabeth B. (Lib) Fleming for her service to the national regulatory community.

Sponsored by the Committee on Electricity Adopted by the Board of Directors July 18, 2018