Contact: Regina L. Davis, 202-898-9382, rdavis@naruc.org



New Leadership Announced for NARUC's Critical Infrastructure, Gas, International and Telecommunications Committees

WASHINGTON (April 14, 2023) — The National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners President Michael A. Caron has announced new chairs for several key committees of the Association, to include critical infrastructure, gas, international and telecommunications.

Florida Public Service Commission Chairman Andrew Giles Fay will serve as the new chair of the Committee on Critical Infrastructure, after previously holding the vice-chair position. He succeeds the former chair, Dianne Solomon, of the New Jersey Board of Public Utilities.

"I'm honored to receive this appointment and look forward to the opportunity to lead NARUC's Committee on Critical Infrastructure," said Fay. "With Florida's active storm seasons, we have become a leader in planning and executing successful emergency preparedness and response efforts. I believe this experience will contribute to the Committee's important work in protecting and restoring our nation's energy grid."

The Committee on Gas will be chaired by Commissioner Tammy Cordova, of the Public Utilities Commission of Nevada. She was the co-vice chair previously and assumes the role held by former Illinois commissioner D. Ethan Kimbrel.

"I am very excited and thank President Caron for this opportunity. This is an exciting time for gas resources in our country and I hope to contribute to the robust conversation that is occurring," said Cordova.

NARUC has a strong international presence, and the recent departure of former commissioner Ellen Nowak from the Public Service Commission of Wisconsin required a new chair for the Committee on International Relations. Commissioner Jason R. Holsman, of the Missouri Public Service Commission, will serve as the new chair. He was previously a member of the committee.

"The work NARUC does assisting emerging countries with energy regulatory development is a great responsibility," said Holsman. "The staff and volunteers for the committee have been doing amazing work over the past 20 years. I'm excited to support their effort in achieving this important mission."

Finally, Commissioner Tim Schram, of the Nebraska Public Service Commission, will serve as chair of the Committee on Telecommunications. Schram has been the vice chair and replaces Michigan Public Service Commissioner Tremaine Phillips.

"I am honored to be appointed as the new chair of the NARUC Telecommunications Committee," said Schram. "I look forward to working with my fellow committee members on advanced communications policies."

"The Association is grateful to Commissioners Fay, Cordova, Holsman and Schram for stepping up to take charge of these important committees to provide the continuity and expert leadership," said President Caron. "Commissioners Solomon, Kimbrel, Nowak and Phillips made meaningful contributions in their respective committees, and we absolutely appreciate their service."

Also, Commissioner Kim Duffley, of the North Carolina Public Utilities Commission, was appointed as co-vice chair of the Committee on Electricity.

NARUC's eight standing committees propose resolutions that, if approved by the Board of Directors, set Association policy on congressional, federal and industry matters. The committees, populated by state public service commissioners, also hold educational sessions and panel discussions on relevant issues to best serve NARUC members.

###

About NARUC

NARUC is a non-profit organization founded in 1889 whose members include the governmental agencies that are engaged in the regulation of utilities and carriers in the fifty states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands. NARUC's member agencies regulate telecommunications, energy, and water utilities. NARUC represents the interests of state public utility commissions before the three branches of the federal government.