FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE





Georgia Commissioner Fitz Johnson to Lead New NARUC Natural Gas Resource Planning Task Force

Pennsylvania Commissioner Kathryn Zerfuss and Nevada Commissioner Tammy
Cordova Named Co-Vice Chairs

WASHINGTON (October 10, 2023) — National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners President Michael A. Caron has named three state utility regulators to lead the Association's new Task Force on Natural Gas Resource Planning. Commissioner Fitz Johnson, of the Georgia Public Service Commission; Commissioner Tammy Cordova, of the Nevada Public Utilities Commission; and Commissioner Kathryn Zerfuss, of the Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission will serve as chair and co vice-chairs, respectively.

This task force was established to connect utility regulators with tools, expertise and platforms to share information and develop their own refined visions for commission-led planning processes that will help them navigate the challenging energy landscape of the coming decades. This initiative is supported by the Department of Energy Office of Fossil Energy and Carbon Management, Office of Policy and the Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy, with internal staffing from the NARUC Center for Partnerships and Innovation, to convene members over the two-year period of the task force.

During the NARUC Summer Policy Summit, Caron announced the establishment of the task force. In the succeeding months, applications were received from commissions to join the task force, with all 20 applications being approved. As Caron noted during his announcement, the task force will not develop or promote a solution to these complex challenges; it will facilitate the development of roadmaps focused on state planning approaches, highlighting items such as questions, information needs, process steps and stakeholder engagement strategies.

"We know that the natural gas sector is experiencing rapid shifts in technology and policies, which often presents complex questions for state utility regulators," said Caron, a commissioner with the Connecticut Public Utilities Regulatory Authority. "Under the thoughtful and experienced leadership of Commissioner Johnson and co-vice chairs Commissioners Zerfuss and Cordova, this task force will help state commissioners become better informed and aid in their gas infrastructure decision making."

The complete list of states represented on the task force and the corresponding commissioners follows.

Commission

1 Colorado Public Utilities Commission

- 2 District of Columbia Public Service Commission
- 3 Florida Public Service Commission
- 4 Georgia Public Service Commission
- 5 Illinois Commerce Commission
- 6 Indiana Utility Regulatory Commission
- 7 Iowa Utilities Board
- 8 Louisiana Public Service Commission
- 9 Massachusetts Department of Public Utilities
- 10 Michigan Public Service Commission
- 11 Minnesota Public Utilities Commission
- 12 Nevada Public Utilities Commission
- 13 New Mexico Public Regulation Commission
- 14 New York Department of Public Service
- 15 Oklahoma Corporation Commission
- 16 Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission
- 17 Public Utilities Commission of Ohio
- 18 Rhode Island Public Utilities Commission
- 19 Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission
- 20 Wisconsin Public Service Commission

Commissioner

Hon. Megan Gilman

Hon. Emile Thompson

Hon. Gabriella Passidomo

Hon. Fitz Johnson

Hon. Stacey Paradis

Hon. Wesley Bennett

Hon. Josh Byrnes

Hon. Eric Skrmetta

Hon. James Van Nostrand

Hon. Alessandra Carreon

Hon. Valerie Means

Hon. Tammy Cordova

Hon. James Ellison

Hon. Diane Burman

Hon. Kim David

Hon. Kathryn Zerfuss

Hon. Lawrence Friedeman

Hon. Abigail Anthony

Hon. Milt Doumit

Hon. Rebecca Valcq

The states represented on the task force reflect the geographic, political and economic diversity of NARUC's membership. The list includes major natural gas-producing states and states heavily dependent on imported natural gas for heating, power generation and industrial processes. Several commissions are charged with implementing statutory decarbonization goals for the gas and/or electric utility sectors and many commissions are focused on economic development, long-term affordability, reliability/resilience and other state priorities.

Task force members will engage with other states and experts to help accelerate their understanding of the costs, benefits and trajectories of various pathways to meet state policy goals and strategies to facilitate meaningful stakeholder engagement, all while minimizing cost burdens on customers.

The first meeting of the task force will be on Sunday, November 12, 2023, at the NARUC Annual Meeting and Education Conference in La Quinta, California. For more information on the Task Force on Natural Gas Resource Planning, visit the <u>task force webpage</u> and read the fact sheet at <u>bit.ly/46u1xVj</u>.

###

About NARUC

NARUC is a non-profit organization founded in 1889 whose members include the governmental agencies that are engaged in the regulation of utilities and carriers in the fifty states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands. NARUC's member agencies regulate telecommunications, energy, and water utilities. NARUC represents the interests of state public utility commissions before the three branches of the federal government.