Resolution Honoring Sheila K Tipton

WHEREAS, Commissioner Sheila K. Tipton was appointed to the Iowa Utilities Board (IUB) on September 3, 2013; *and*

WHEREAS, During her term at the IUB, Commissioner Tipton served as an active member of NARUC's Telecommunications Committee; *and*

WHEREAS, Commissioner Tipton served on the Communications Security, Reliability and Interoperability Council as the NARUC representative and was a member of its Cybersecurity Risk Management and Best Practices Working Group; *and*

WHEREAS, Commissioner Tipton has practiced law in Iowa for over 33 years, specializing in public utility (essential infrastructure) law and is an active member of the American Bar Association, the Iowa State Bar Association, and the Energy Bar Association; *and*

WHEREAS, Before joining the IUB, Commissioner Tipton was well-known within the utilities community and successfully represented public energy, telecommunications and water utilities, renewable energy developers and customers, and a multitude of other businesses as a partner at the Belin McCormick law firm; *and*

WHEREAS, Commissioner Tipton's utility-related experience encompasses such areas as certification, rulemaking, ratemaking, merger, reorganization, and compliance; *and*

WHEREAS, Commissioner Tipton is listed in *The Best Lawyers in America*® in the areas of Energy, Communications and Administrative Law (1991-present) and was awarded *Best Lawyers*' 2012 Des Moines Communications Law Lawyer of the Year; *and*

WHEREAS, Commissioner Tipton has been a dedicated and tireless advocate for the ratepayers of Iowa utilities while ensuring that all parties were treated fairly and impartially; *now, therefore be it*

RESOLVED, That the Board of Directors of the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners, convened at its 2015 Summer Meetings in New York, New York, extends its sincere thanks to Commissioner Tipton for her dedicated public service to Iowa and NARUC and extends its best wishes to her for her future endeavors.

Sponsored by the Committee on Telecommunications
Recommended by the NARUC Board of Directors July ___, 2015