Resolution Honoring Connie Murray

WHEREAS, Commissioner Connie Murray was first appointed to the Missouri Public Service Commission in May 1997; *and*

WHEREAS, Commissioner Murray, upon her retirement from the Public Service Commission in May 2009, became the longest serving female commissioner in Missouri history; *and*

WHEREAS, Commissioner Murray, as further evidence of her dedication to the citizens of Missouri served as a member of the Missouri House of Representatives from 1991 to 1996; *and*

WHEREAS, Commissioner Murray received a Bachelor's Degree from Temple University, Loyola College and a Juris Doctorate from the University of Maryland; *and*

WHEREAS, Commissioner Murray held a variety of jobs, ranging from a dental hygienist, a lawyer, a real estate broker, and a public servant; *and*

WHEREAS, Commissioner Murray was an active member of the NARUC Committee on Water; and

WHEREAS, During her tenure with NARUC, Commissioner Murray was also an active member of the NARUC Committee on Telecommunications; *and*

WHEREAS, Commissioner Murray's commitment to key regulatory issues was apparent through her membership in various associations, and participation in multiple activities and speaking engagements; *and*

WHEREAS, Commissioner Murray's dedication to public service was only rivaled by her commitment to a healthy lifestyle; *and*

WHEREAS, Commissioner Murray could often be seen vigorously exercising before a long day of meetings and networking with her NARUC colleagues; *and*

WHEREAS, Commissioner Murray is highly regarded as a dedicated, hard-working friend who will be greatly missed by her NARUC colleagues; *now*, *therefore be it*

RESOLVED, That the Board of Directors of the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners (NARUC), convened at its 2009 Summer Committee Meetings in Seattle, Washington, expresses its sincere appreciation and gratitude to Connie Murray and conveys its best wishes in all her future endeavors.

Sponsored by the Committee on Water Adopted by the NARUC Board of Directors July 22, 2009